Regulation of Osteopathy in Europe

Currently osteopathy is regulated in nine European countries:
Finland, France, Iceland, Denmark, Lichtenstein, Malta, Portugal, Switzerland and the UK.

Osteopathic Standards
Comité Européen de Normalisation, CEN, issued a European Standard on Osteopathic Healthcare Provision in 2015, (EN 16686) developed in partnership with the European Federation of Osteopaths (EFO) and the Forum for Osteopathic Regulation in Europe (FORE). The CEN standard sets a benchmark for high quality clinical practice, education, safety and ethics for Osteopathy in Europe and has been published in 33 European countries. Read more about the CEN standard here:

The World Health Organization published Benchmarks for Training in Osteopathy in 2010: Benchmarks for Training in Osteopathy

The WHO Benchmarks describes the core philosophy and principles of osteopathy, the main types of osteopathic training programmes, core competencies, and a benchmark training curriculum.